The Road

The road’ll change a man, but can a man change the road? The road he’s on, with new doorways constantly opening and closing, the road to salvation and ruin, the road that’s at once ephemeral and fleeting but equally eternal. That’s what I was trying to find out.

I’d encountered light and darkness and all the shades in between. Music and positivity had carried me far and wide, internally and within the world of men. I have hope for America, a country whose creative passion and ideas have brought the greatest leap forward in technology and science the world has ever seen. At the same time, our education system and work ethic have taught us to hide; hide your true self, for it shows weakness — something not the desired in the constitution of man. And the things you should learn? Only that which will make you money, a concept that has steered the education superhighway. Americans now seem more about defensive posturing and masking their true emotion than ever before. Our consumerism has taught us that everyone is out to sell you, everyone wants your buck. Don’t smile for long, don’t engage, or you’ll get taken. And so it is often with MUSIC, that Americans have learned to enjoy, at most, with their faces. Don’t let go, don’t lose control, it will expose your vulnerabilities. Oh, the sweet injustice of that insular existence!

I look forward to the places where the bodies unite in rhythmic dance and song, where there is no fear of the up lift. It’s these places that call my soul. But my heart rests in the country I was born in. I see its true potential, I see its whole history laid out before me. I see many futures and I see that many are grim — I desire to change them. I desire for the true positive.

I seek to lose control, give my spirit to the higher communication that is music, in all its forms. Music explains everything: nature, politics, economics, science, and religion, and I would speak to you on all of these topics. And if our conversation were musical, then we would both would grow. I have been lucky in many musical conversations so far, and I am blessed to travel, blessed to be walking through your door right now.

But I’m drawn back to those faces, so bright and changing, when the music’s all around. It didn’t stop for me, but how to convince those faces of that fact? We were having a conversation after all, did you not want to part on equal terms?

Or maybe I’m wrong, and the Bard has always Belonged in the Cellar next to the Wine. To be brought out for good times, but quickly tucked away when the business of ego and dynasty building are back at hand. There is a utopian state inclusive of the true positive, bright and free. It exists in my mind and I have seen it in practice. Can we bring it forth and articulate what is right?

About gatsbygreenlight

I am an natural economist, artist, musician, songwriter and a supporter of the planet and sustainable living. I am the author of Annalee and the Forever Smile, a Harry Potter of Sustainability and Little House on the Prairie for this generation. Annalee is a multi-novel, multi-film franchise in the YA sci-fi fantasy genre. I am a musician and songwriter with Gatsby's Green Light and as a soloist and have released over 10 albums. More info at www.kencoulson.com. I promote tangible trillion dollar markets in Sustainability at www.futurebrightllc.com. Promoting Love, Compassion and Intelligence.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Gatsby's Green Light, Modern Philosophy, Sonic Bomb, WinterTour2011 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

