The Power of Positive Presence

 

Strumming my first chord at 8am happens occasionally but usually it’s just for the birds, the trees and myself.

The past Saturday, I let the music play me in support of the 2013 CT Northeast Organic Food Associations Winter Conference. It was a crisp beautiful morning and you could feel the energy and excitement pouring onto the grounds at Wilton High School. I was in the registration area for the early session then got to play the lunch hour, before experiencing the wonderful food. Here’s my spot from the early morning centering.

With the Art of Wilton High School Students behind me, I strummed with joy

With the Art of Wilton High School Students behind me, I strummed with joy

 

Yes, I called my early morning guitar work ‘centering’ and that’s exactly how I view it. It relates back to my yoga practice where one tries to get into the moment, the present moment. I believe it is the key to staying in a positive space. Here’s my process derived from great teachers and personal exploration:

1.)  Breath: The breath is the most important circle, stay focused on it

2.)  Smile: they’re contagious and they create positive space allowing you to say more that words ever could

3.)  The House: Music lives inside every living thing. I must let the music move through me

4.)  The Moment: Everything I’ve done or will do is preparation for this moment alone.

5.)  Love: If I can love all living things, that emotion can transform the world

I am not permanently in this place but I am trying to be there. When I do become present, everything around me resonates with energy and light. Conversations flow easily, often without words.

Here was my message for the 800 or so folks assembled at this wonderful conference: If everyone here could be present just for one moment. Not thinking about picking up the kids or what to make for dinner tonight. Not worrying about the workweek ahead and not lamenting past decisions or poor planning in this moment. If we all achieve this, the amount of information that can be access would be astounding. These 800 people can change the world in a positive way (it actually takes far fewer than 800). That’s the power of positive presence and it is something I wish for everyone.

There are tremendous folks and information within NOFA, consider joining today at www.ctnofa.org

Ken Coulson is the founder of Sonic Bomb LLC, a mixed-media company that uses art to raise awareness about sustainable living solutions. He is an advocate of Natural Capitalism, a multi-instrument musician and is writing his first book, Annalee & The Forever Smile. His musical project is at http://www.gatsbygreenlight.com

 

About gatsbygreenlight

I am an natural economist, artist, musician, songwriter and a supporter of the planet and sustainable living. I am the author of Annalee and the Forever Smile, a Harry Potter of Sustainability and Little House on the Prairie for this generation. Annalee is a multi-novel, multi-film franchise in the YA sci-fi fantasy genre. I am a musician and songwriter with Gatsby's Green Light and as a soloist and have released over 10 albums. More info at www.kencoulson.com. I promote tangible trillion dollar markets in Sustainability at www.futurebrightllc.com. Promoting Love, Compassion and Intelligence.

Posted on March 4, 2013, in Artist Communities, Ken Coulson Poetry & Song Lyric, Sonic Bomb, Sustainability, Sustainable Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

