Song 5 – Om Pram – The Forever Smile

Morning Meditation, that’s how this song started. Really the whole journey to this album in different way represents some part of the path towards awakening.

Om Pram is the fifth song on the Forever Smile from Gatsby’s Green Light

I was doing frequent yoga at this time and my favorite teacher, Erin, was bringing a lot of singing into her classes. In this way and many other, she was connecting the participants in a truly beautiful and lasting way. She helped write this song. I told her she was ‘on fire’ because fire represents such a powerful transformation of matter.I left her classes with a reborn feeling, kind of like a cerebrally driven intelligence of the body. I’d feel like I could do anything and I would be perfectly content if that ‘everything’ ended up being nothing but an appreciation of the wonderful and beautiful world around me. I wanted to start my day with that feeling and so Om Pram was crafted as a piece for my morning.

Om means ‘Universe’

Pram symbolizes ‘Breath’

The song evolved as a kind of request. Let the universe love me, let the world be my guide and of course I lend my trust to it in the process. It was a deeply gratifying song to make and I think the whole band was able to achieve a similar feeling about what it might be capable of.

The song takes place in eastern tuning – open D.

At the time, Luke was also using in his practice a lot of Indian scales and talking to me about the shift in notations allowed with the time of day. Of course the fretless bass was the perfect instrument to fill out the song.

As Hari and Will crafted there parts, Hari immediately turned to the Digeredoo and Will’s ghostly guitar melody became the impetus for the missing vocalization in the chorus. We knew we had some with its own power. Something that came from somewhere beyond simply four individually in a studio making music.

We saw the finished project kind of like a reusable rocket for the mind, capable of thought stimulation as well as transportation. Maybe it’ll be something Space Travelers listen to? We don’t know, we just hope whoever does listen is able to journey down the path that we did when the song came forth.

Listen to OM PRAM exclusively release HERE & NOW

Image

About gatsbygreenlight

I am an natural economist, artist, musician, songwriter and a supporter of the planet and sustainable living. I am the author of Annalee and the Forever Smile, a Harry Potter of Sustainability and Little House on the Prairie for this generation. Annalee is a multi-novel, multi-film franchise in the YA sci-fi fantasy genre. I am a musician and songwriter with Gatsby's Green Light and as a soloist and have released over 10 albums. More info at www.kencoulson.com. I promote tangible trillion dollar markets in Sustainability at www.futurebrightllc.com. Promoting Love, Compassion and Intelligence.

Posted on September 28, 2013, in Artist Communities, Gatsby's Green Light, Sonic Bomb, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

