Song 9,10 – Rukus Remedy – The Forever Smile

Celebration time! We’re so pleased with the re-emergence of the banjo in popular music. It one of those things that tells me that people are hungry for true vibrations. What are true vibrations? There the one’s constructed out of emotion, born of intent, forged from the deep pressure laden- ventricles of the heart,… I digress, see I always seem to get serious when I talk and that’s why I try to encourage myself to remember to have a guitar in my hand if I am going to open my mouth.

In this case is was a Banjo. I picked it up from the friendly folks at Acoustic Corner in Black Mountain, NC in December 2012. Great place, great instrument.

Rukus represented that party. The one in celebration of our lives and the gifts that the land can provide. It’s also about community and the importance of coming together and giving thanks. And finally not being afraid of being yourself. I guess that my journey in music has been a lot about that.

Remedy is kind of like that contemplative hangover where the great ideas fall out. Maybe it was the most Bela Fleck influenced part of the album. The banjo lick had been around since my early fumbling and the guys just wrote around it in a thematic way to capture the inspiration. I can see Otis telling Annalee she’s still got to be in the fields before sunrise and remedy playing in her head reflecting in the dreaminess of the emotional celebration.

LISTEN HERE AND CHECK OUT THE LYRICS BELOW

RUKUS/REMEDY

People get ready  the crops in the ground

The good queen she’s married and loves all we’ve found

Down in the valley                        To the high peaks above

Wondria our bounty         On wings of the dove

The Soul and the Heart for one and all

We’re still gonna rise after the fall

So now we gather            together as one

The Good steed of nature          cannot be undone

Trust in the mother            the maker of love

Raise up the peace          hallelujah the sun

The Soul and the Heart for one and all

We’re still gonna rise after the fall

About gatsbygreenlight

I am an natural economist, artist, musician, songwriter and a supporter of the planet and sustainable living. I am the author of Annalee and the Forever Smile, a Harry Potter of Sustainability and Little House on the Prairie for this generation. Annalee is a multi-novel, multi-film franchise in the YA sci-fi fantasy genre. I am a musician and songwriter with Gatsby's Green Light and as a soloist and have released over 10 albums. More info at www.kencoulson.com. I promote tangible trillion dollar markets in Sustainability at www.futurebrightllc.com. Promoting Love, Compassion and Intelligence.

Posted on September 30, 2013, in Gatsby's Green Light, Sonic Bomb, Sustainability, Sustainable Living, THE FOREVER SMILE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

